Spotlight on 2017 Travois Superhero Awards winners: Floyd Tortalita (Part 3 of 5)

Our recent annual conference marks three years of recognizing great people doing great work in Indian Country.

(Pictured from left to right are: Floyd Tortalita, executive director, Pueblo of Acoma Housing Authority; and Trent Rogers, project coordinator, Travois)

We’re sharing more about the Housing Professional of the Year: Floyd Tortalita, Pueblo of Acoma Housing Authority executive director.

Floyd has been a tireless advocate for affordable housing in Indian Country for more than 17 years. His housing development career spans two tribal housing authorities, but his impact extends even further.

Pueblo of Acoma Housing Authority (PAHA) recently broke ground and construction is underway on its first Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) project. Undertaking a LIHTC project for the first time can be daunting, but Floyd has navigated the journey like a true professional. When the project encountered obstacles, he always maintained a positive attitude and showed tremendous leadership to keep the project team pushing forward.

Floyd accepted his award at the luncheon and shared heartfelt stories of the community members that he has had the chance to serve. After the conference, Floyd shared this about his award:

“I am humbled with the recent recognition from Travois as 2017 Housing Professional of the Year,” Floyd said. “I’ve been working for tribal government for the past 26 years and in Indian housing for 17 of those years. My team at Pueblo of Acoma Housing Authority and I work to provide viable and innovative housing opportunities for Pueblo of Acoma tribal members. A home is more than just shelter; it is a sacred gathering place for our families. The home is the heart that gives our families life, our bond that keeps us together.”

Everyone who knows him will agree, Floyd is always upbeat, optimistic and looking towards the future. He is truly a joy to work with.

Congratulations, Floyd!  


Read about our 2017 Superhero Awards winners: