What’s new, Josie?

As many of you know, Josie Elliston, senior compliance specialist, has been a valuable team member at Travois since 2012. We thought it would be fun to find out what she has been up to — other than project work! Lately, Josie has been volunteering and recently became a new foster parent!

Read on to learn more:

Education and certifications:

I have a bachelor’s degree in business management from Missouri Southern State University. I also hold the certifications: HCCP, NTCCP, RD-HCM, and UPCS. All are certifications related to housing programs.

Past experiences that help you succeed at Travois:

For several years as an on-site manager, I previously managed six separate elderly projects and one family project. I have been in the position where many of our clients find themselves in with regard to tenant relations and compliance demands. This helps me to relate to our clients because I have had to accomplish many of the problem-solving feats they do every day.

Indian Country travels:

I travel to northern Minnesota every year to visit the Leech Lake Reservation. It is very pretty country to drive through, and the people are so warm and welcoming.

Family details:

I am married, and between the two of us, we have seven kids. Four are from his previous marriage, two are from my previous marriage, and we have one other. At home we have my youngest (18) and his youngest (15) and a little foster child (2).

Volunteer work:

My husband and I volunteer at our church and will be starting to host home groups soon. We recently became foster parents and will be volunteering in a variety of ways in the foster care community. Both of these are a way for us to help give back to our community by doing something we believe in.

Message to our clients:  

I want our clients to know that I am here to help them succeed, and my passion is to help people in need get into safe, affordable and sanitary housing.

Childhood aspirations:

I wanted to be an interpreter for the deaf because the language is fascinating to me.

Hidden talent:

My hidden talent is a good basic knowledge of sign language. I definitely need to find time increase this skill.

Pets:

We have a Siberian Husky, a Shih Tzu and a cat at home. Zeus (the Husky) joined me at work often when he was very little but he gets pretty bored with “office life” nowadays. Crystal (the Shih tzu) joins me on occasion and is a favorite in the office when she does. Zeus misses her at home when I bring her, so she doesn’t come too often.

Favorite food:

Any kind of Mexican food. My favorite local place is Ted’s Mexican Café in Lee’s Summit, MO.

Free time:

I enjoy hanging out with my family and taking road trips together.

Kansas City favorites:

I really like the diversity of things to do. There is always something going on — whether it’s a Royals game, a symphony performance, a production at Starlight Theater, a multicultural festival, or even just hanging out on a park lawn listening to live music — no one is ever bored here in KC!

Least favorite chore:

Definitely mopping floors — that’s why I have teenagers! Haha!

Favorite season:

It’s too hard to pick one. I enjoy anytime that it is over 70 degrees outside (lol)! I love to be outdoors, especially when the bugs are kept away.

Travois favorites:

That’s easy — the people at Travois! From the people in top positions to the bottom, they are easily the most down-to-earth, compassionate and kind people I have ever had the privilege of working with. They are really good at what they do and encourage us to succeed in our business as well as in our personal lives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *